Farewell to a Friend

Last night I bid farewell to a friend.

I arrived at home to discover that he was already gone, taking with him a myriad of happy memories…

 

He was there when I first saw Mr. P, his gleaming blue skin shining brightly in the sun, adding weight to an already good impression. 

He was there when I finally gave my “yes” to a love offered, his approval roaring loudly in the air. 

He was there during those cold Christmas nights as we cruised along canopies of christmas lights dreaming of a future of togetherness. 

He was there when I sobbed my first cry, his chrome arms a welcome comfort.  He lost his night-vision head then, adding to my despair. 

 

Together, we enjoyed the kiss of the summer sun and breathe the cool air of the December sky.

We joined hands in prayer for every celebration and occasion – a wedding, a new home, a new baby.

He rejoiced with us, he despaired with us, he must have thought it will be forever…

Until yesterday.

 

The buyer called in the morning. 

For the first time in 10 years, he fell. 

Mr. P said his leg must have broken from the weight.

I said it was more like a broken spirit.  

The buyer arrived in the afternoon.

He fell yet again.

He must have known it was the end of our relationship.  

His way of saying goodbye. 

 

I arrived at home to discover that he was already gone, taking with him a myriad of happy memories.

Farewell dear friend, you have served us well.

Leave a comment